Author Topic: Offtopic-forum  (Read 2487 times)

Offline Arntor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
  • Karma: +0/-0
Offtopic-forum
« on: July 16, 2011, 06:14:53 AM »
Only this subforum displays oddly as you can see below. The others displays fine

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Offline Kira

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Offtopic-forum
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2011, 06:30:19 AM »
this doesn\'t show up on my screen.  it\'s probably a cache bug on your end,  dump your browser cache and reload the page.  also if you\'re using IE,  well....   that explains everything.  IE,  worlds worst browser,  and it\'s forced on you by microsoft who if they had their way would force everyone to change the web to work with their browser,  rather than changing the browser to work with the web.
Join us on discord!
https://discord.gg/u3tBuEZ

Offline Arntor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Offtopic-forum
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2011, 07:21:56 AM »
Dumped, nothing changed.

Same gltch at the tabs \"Recent Topics\" and \"My Topics\".

Using the latest FF, although after your post I checked with IE9 and it gave the same display.


It isn\'t a problem that needs immediate attention I only thought you should know  ;)

Offline Slinkey

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Offtopic-forum
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2011, 09:23:31 AM »
LOLOLOL, I didn\'t have this problem, but after I checked this topic I got the same thing....

Everyone loves a Slinkey! <3
I love Waffles! <3

Offline Kira

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Offtopic-forum
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2011, 10:58:54 AM »
I\'m on it
Join us on discord!
https://discord.gg/u3tBuEZ

Offline Kira

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Offtopic-forum
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2011, 11:02:35 AM »
Tried with chrome, ie, Firefox, opera and even my android tablet. Can\'t reproduce problem.  Will keep eye on it.
Join us on discord!
https://discord.gg/u3tBuEZ

Offline Arntor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Offtopic-forum
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2011, 01:01:58 PM »
Error-console of FF says something wrong with the .css file. Unfortunately I\'m not using an English client so posting the log wouldn\'t be usefull.

Offline Kira

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Offtopic-forum
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2011, 02:06:52 PM »
which css file?  there\'s about 50 of them responsible for the site as you see it.
Join us on discord!
https://discord.gg/u3tBuEZ

Offline Arntor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Offtopic-forum
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2011, 03:51:36 AM »
Spoiler (click to show/hide)


paint ftw

anyway I don\'t know if all the terms are properly translated but there are close enough

Offline Kira

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Offtopic-forum
« Reply #9 on: July 17, 2011, 12:31:44 PM »
this is rather strange....  none of those errors actually exist in the css files.

please do the following,  check your comp for adware, spyware, and any ad blockers that might be erroneously filtering out the important parts of the css files,  also if you have any custom css overide addons/programs running.

is anyone else also having this problem?  need to find what\'s causing it.  so far I\'ve tested on windows, mac os, linux,  even beos using a range of browsers and still cannot reproduce problem.

everyone having this problem please submit screenshots and error logs from browser if you can please.
Join us on discord!
https://discord.gg/u3tBuEZ

Offline Arntor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Offtopic-forum
« Reply #10 on: July 18, 2011, 01:28:12 PM »
I\'m running an adblocker, delete cookies after exit and regularly check for spyware.

It might be the adblocker but it would be rather strange to only affect one forum (and not even the topics in it)

Offline Kira

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Offtopic-forum
« Reply #11 on: July 18, 2011, 06:28:47 PM »
it\'s possible it thinks all the various modules that\'s being pulled to render the page in your browser are ads and it\'s filtering some parts,  breaking the css.  I highly recommend against ad blockers as they really don\'t accomplish much on average.  instead your best bet is to edit your hosts file to block the ip of doubleclick and a few other well known ad companies,  and use a browser with a built in popup blocker like firefox or opera.  NEVER INSTALL A POPUP BLOCKER!!!!  your typical browser these days can handle that on it\'s own.  if it can\'t,  then stop using internet exploder and get a real browser. :P

so yeah,  that\'s the only thing I can come up with that would be causing your problem.
Join us on discord!
https://discord.gg/u3tBuEZ

Offline Kira

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Offtopic-forum
« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2011, 06:30:36 PM »
also another funny thing about that image you posted...  the forum is designed to fill your browser window from end to end, resizing automatically to fit the full width of the window...  why is only part of the browser showing it?
Join us on discord!
https://discord.gg/u3tBuEZ

Offline Slinkey

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
  • Karma: +2/-0
Re: Offtopic-forum
« Reply #13 on: July 19, 2011, 04:25:07 AM »
Hm... I am using Google Chrome and I get this problem, I will try the site on my laptop to see if I still have it.

Everyone loves a Slinkey! <3
I love Waffles! <3

Offline Kira

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 272
  • Karma: +7/-0
Re: Offtopic-forum
« Reply #14 on: July 20, 2011, 09:07:37 AM »
strange because I still have yet to successfully reproduce it on my comp.  I wonder what\'s wrong.  please submit more error messages all of those who are effected,  just telling me you have the problem doesn\'t help.
Join us on discord!
https://discord.gg/u3tBuEZ